Creating New Project

To create a new project, go to Projects from the side menu and click the top left button labeled: New Project.

Step 1: Enter Project Name – The name of the project – Visible to the customer

Step 2: Select a customer (If the project is an internal one, just select ExpertEase - Internal)

Step 3: Select Billing Type – there are 3 billing types for the projects. (auto-selected from the most used billing type)

* NOTE:

 The Billing Type can't be changed if any billed tasks exist for the project.
  • Fixed Cost
  • Project Hours – Based on the project's total billable hours
  • Tasks Hours – Based on the task's total billable hours – The total is calculated per task Hourly Rate (When creating a task, you need to set an hourly rate for these tasks if billable.
  • Select project members – Only project members and staff who have permission to Manage Projects will be able to access the project.
  • Start Date
  • End Date
  • Project Description

Project Settings

Each project can have its own settings based on the customer, out of the following:

  • Allow or disallow the customers to view tasks
  • Allow or disallow the customer to comment on project tasks – Not applied if Allow customer to view tasks is unchecked.
  • Allow or disallow the customer to view task comments- Not applied if Allow customer to view tasks is unchecked.
  • Allow or disallow the customer to view task attachments- Not applied if Allow customer to view tasks is unchecked.
  • Allow or disallow the customer to view task checklist items- Not applied if Allow customer to view tasks is unchecked.
  • Allow or disallow the customer to upload attachments on tasks- Not applied if Allow customer to view tasks is unchecked.
  • Allow or disallow the customer to view the total logged time of tasks
  • Allow or disallow the customer to view the Finance Overview –  (Finance overview for tasks will not be shown if the Billing Type of the project is Fixed Cost)
  • Allow customers to upload files
  • Allow customers to open discussions
  • Allow customers to view milestones
  • Allow customers to view Gantt
  • Allow customers to view timesheets
  • Allow customers to view the activity log
  • Allow customers to view team members

Notes:

  • When creating a new project, the default project settings will initially be taken from the last project. You can adjust if any changes are required.
  • Project currency will be your base currency or the customer currency. If the customer has a currency that is different from the base currency set up for them, the system will use the currency that is specified in their (customer) profile.